Unhealthy Relationships

It has been a couple of weeks since I deleted my so-called friends from my life. No phone calls from them as to the who, what, where, when and why of my life. No more hater remarks because I’m doing things with my family and significant other.

Its funny how we don’t realize how unhealthy some relationships are until we get out of them. There were times I actually believed I was being a bad friend because I didn’t have the funds, the energy or desire to hang out. However, now that I have had the opportunity to stand back and look at the situation I realize I did nothing wrong. I was always available for phone calls & texts. When my assistance was requested, I was there. I unconditionally tried to provide understand and support.

I, on the other hand, now realize that I was not getting the same level of support and understanding from my so-called friends as I was giving to them.

I was disappointed but now I’m just relieved. The burden of those unhealthy friendships were like ominous clouds that kept the sunlight from shining through. Now my days are lighter and brighter.

This entry was posted in Perspectives and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment